Temposphere, KFAI 11/07/09

tsphere 110709 geoham

Tonight’s episode of the Temposphere program on KFAI found us wandering through a familiar terrain of Afrobeat, Reggae, Samba and Salsa while taking a diversion into what I’m now calling “smoky folk”. Lots of new music (Havana Cultura Band, Shawn Lee & Clutchy Hopkins, Mayra Andrade) was leavened with a strong base of classics (Tim Hardin, Erykah Badu, Jimmy McGriff, and all too briefly The Love Unlimited Orchestra – full track next time!). If you missed the show during its live broadcast all is forgiven – you still have a decadent two weeks to enjoy it via MP3 stream (even better than live because you can deploy the pause function when necessary) available at the KFAI archives. Playlists available both there and here by clicking through.

Image is from Vintage Poster.

Shawn Lee & Clutchy Hopkins – 70 MPH Isn’t Fast Enough To Get Out Of Nebraska
album: Fascinating Fingers; label: Ubiquity

Havana Cultura Band – Ipacuba
album: Havana Cultura Band; label: Brownswood

Ennio Morricone – Sauna
album: So Sweet So Sensual; label: Cinevox

Alan Hawkshaw – Black Pearl
album: Music de Wolfe; label: Music de Wolfe

Bitty McLean – Walk Away From Love
album: 7″; label: Peckings

Tony Allen – Ayenlo
album: Secret Agent; label: World Circuit

Nomo – Reasons
album: New Tones; label: Ubiquity

Kylie Auldist – It’s On
album: Made Of Stone; label: Tru Thoughts

The Heliocentrics with Percee P and Doom – Distant Star
album: Fallen Angels: The Singles Collection; label: Now Again

Hypnotic Brass Ensemble – Satin Sheets
album: Hypnotic Brass Ensemble; label: Honest Jons

Mayra Andrade – Konsiensia
album: Storia Storia; label: RCA Victor France

Erykah Badu – Didn’t Cha Know
album: Mama’s Gun; label: Motown

Camille – Assise
album: Le Fil; label: Virgin

Brownout – SFLA
album: Aguilas & Cobras; label: Six Degrees

Domu – Somethin’ Extra (Domu Mix)
album: Domu EP; label: Tru Thoughts

Voice Of Progress – Shadow After Dark
album: Mini Bus Driver; label: Negus Roots

Q Tip – Feelin’
album: Kamaal The Abstract; label: Battery/Jive

Harmonia 76 – Vamos Companeros
album: Tracks & Traces; label: Ryko

Tim Hardin – Never Too Far
album: Hang On To A Dream: The Verve Recordings; label: Verve

Philamore Lincoln – The North Wind Blew South
album: The North Wind Blew South; label: Epic

Love – Bummer In The Summer
album: Forever Changes; label: Elektra

Nick Drake – Northern Sky
album: Bryter Layter; label: Island

Jimmy McGriff – Space Cadet
album: Red Beans; label: Groove Merchant

Quantic & His Combo Barbaro – Un Canto A Mi Terra
album: Tradition In Transition; label: Tru Thoughts

Ceu – Cordao Da Insonia
album: Vagarosa; label: Six Degrees

Nico Fidenco – Eternal Anguish
album: Perche Violenza Alla Donna; label: Dago Red

The Itals – Roll River Jordan
album: Give Me Power; label: Nighthawk

Havana Cultura Band – Chekere
album: Havana Cultura Band; label: Brownswood

Beto Villares – Nacao Postal
album: Beto Villares; label: Six Degrees

Love Unlimited Orchestra – Midnight In Blue
album: Rhapsody In White; label: 20th Century


Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: