Temposphere, KFAI 12/26/09

Some of the best records of 2009 mingling with classics from the last 40 years: that was the essence of Saturday evening’s Temposphere. The 2 hour show ranged from obscure library tracks (Sauveur Mallia anyone?) to beloved stalwarts like Augustus Pablo, T. Rex, The Impressions and Tony Allen. The show is available as an MP3 stream at the KFAI site until January 9, 2010 and the playlist is posted both there and here, after the break.

Claude Engel – Fleur de Pavot
album: 99% Pop; label: Telemusic

Céu – Lenda
album: Live Sessions EP; label: Six Degrees

Flevans with Sarah Scott – Hold On
album: 27 Devils; label: Tru Thoughts

Soulful Strings – The Voices Inside
album: String Fever; label: Cadet

Cimarons – Take Heed
album: On The Rock; label: Vulcan

Q-Tip – A Million Times
album: Kamaal The Abstract; label: Jive

Milton Nascimento – Gira, Girou
album: Milton Nascimento; label: Codil Ritmos

Sara Tavares – Bué (Voce e…)
album: Xinti; label: Four Quarters

Quantic & His Combo Barbaro – Un Canto a Mi Tierra (instrumental)
album: Tradition In Transition; label: Tru Thoughts

Desmond Williams – Dread A The Roughest
album: Delights Of The Garden; label: ESL

The Impressions – 7 Years
album: Young Mod’s Forgotten Story; label: Curtom

Hypnotic Brass Ensemble – Hypnotic
album: Hypnotic Brass Ensemble; label: Honest Jons

Sauveur Mallia – Future Vision
album: Spatial & Co.; label: Telemusic

Tony Allen – Ayenlo
album: Secret Agent; label: World Circuit

Pete Dunaway – Supermarket
album: Pete Dunaway; label: Som Livre

Augustus Pablo – Revolution Dub
album: Africa Must Be Free Dub; label: Message

Hugh Mundell – Run Revolution Come
album: Africa Must Be Free By 1983; label: Greensleeves

Kylie Auldist – One Goodbye
album: Made of Stone; label: Tru Thoughts

Peaches – Lose You
album: I Feel Cream; label: XL

Alan Hawkshaw – Black Pearl
album: Music de Wolfe; label: Music de Wolfe

José Gonzáles – Killing For Love
album: In Our Nature; label: Mute

Donovan – Clara Clairvoyant
album: Open Road; label: Epic

T. Rex – Mambo Sun
album: Electric Warrior; label: Reprise

Leon Huff – No Greater Love
album: Here to Create Music; label: Philadelphia International

Orgone – Cydelines
album: Bacano; label: Ubiquity

Mayra Andrade – Stória Stória
album: Stória Stória; label: RCA Victor France

Antonio Carlos & Jocafi – Quem Vem La
album: Mudei de Ideia; label: RCA

Harold Lopez-Nussa – La Jungla
album: Havana Cultura: New Cuba Sound; label: Brownswood

Cornel Campbell – The Sun
album: Natty Dread Anthology; label: Trojan

Sleepwalker – Wind
album: Works; label: Village Again

Baby Face Wilette – Song of the Universe
album: Behind The 8 Ball; label: Argo


Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: